By default people in your church don't have access to UCare to ensure the privacy of people's information that you add to UCare. When you need to grant someone access first view their profile, tap the options button next to Access and then tap Edit.
Tip: When your UCare account was first created a Users groups was created to allow you to see all people who have UCare access. You can use the Reports tab of this group to view the various access levels of all your users.
Tip: You can't change your own access, an admin needs to do that for you. Only a super admin can change another super admin's access.
The access section will let you choose the permissions you want to grant to a person and the email to use for sign in, if you give them SMS permission you will also need to specify the mobile number that they can send SMS messages from. When you tap Save after granting access an email will be sent to the person allowing them to securely sign in and set their password. If you change the sign in email an email will be sent to notify the person of the change.
Tip: The sign in email must be unique to each person, you can't use the same email when granting others access.
Tip: If a person ever forgets their password then they can tap "Forgot password" on the sign in page to send an email allowing them to reset their password. Alternatively you can tap the ... button next to the Access heading and then tap Send password reset email.
Tip: Tap the ... button next to the Access heading and then Delete to quickly remove access from someone.
Group & meetings: This permission is meant for small group leaders who need to access info for their group members. They can only see groups they own and members of those groups. If small group leaders don't need to access this info then simply set their small group meeting to send them an attendance reminder email, they don't need to be able to sign in to submit attendance.
With this permission the person will also be able to view people assigned to them in a Process, but when they view the process they won't see all the people in the process, they only see the people assigned to them.
People & households: This will give a person access to all people and households that are either unrestricted or restricted to a security area that they have been granted permission to. They will also be able to add, edit or delete people and households.
Events: This will give a person access to all events and bookings that are either unrestricted or restricted to a security area that they have been granted permission to. They will also be able to add, edit or delete events and bookings.
Forms & processes: This will give a person access to all forms and processes that are either unrestricted or restricted to a security area that they have been granted permission to. They will also be able to add, edit or delete forms and processes.
Payments: This will give a person access to all payments that are either unrestricted or restricted to a security area that they have been granted permission to. They will also be able to add, edit or delete payments.
Create email messages: This will give a person access to creating email messages, but they will need to ask someone else to review and send the email message for them.
Send and approve email messages: This will give a person access to creating and sending email messages, they can also send email messages created by others.
Send SMS messages: This will give a person access to sending SMS message.
View all reports: This will give a person access to group attendance and membership reports, including graphs displayed on the dashboard.
Security areas: While a person with access can view items that haven't been restricted, you can also choose to give them access to items that have been restricted to a particular security area. For example you could grant Protected permission so a person serving with the Pastoral Care team so they can view and add notes restricted to Pastoral Care. See below for more info abut security areas.
Security area admin: This will give a person permission to grant others access and give permission to the security areas that they have access to.
Super admin: This will give a person access to everything and they can also grant access to anything. This is a very powerful permission level so should only be granted to people who are trusted to see sensitive information.
When a person receives a welcome email they tap on Sign in to UCare and it takes them to the welcome page. They can simply pick their time zone and a password then tap Continue.
If SMS has been enabled and they have been given SMS permission then they will also need to enter a code, the code will be SMSed to the mobile number that was entered when giving them access. Normally this is quick, but it can take up to 30 seconds for the code to arrive.
Security areas are a flexible way to restrict access to information saved on UCare. By default there are two security areas available, Default and Protected. You can rename these if needed or create new security areas. You could create an Executive area so that senior leadership can have a private area to keep information on UCare, or you could create a security area for each of your churches campus locations.
Tip: If a person isn't a super admin and hasn't been given access to a security area they won't even know it exists. So if you add a security area called "Super-secret counselling notes", then you don't have to worry about your team seeing that and being worried about what notes you are keeping about them.
Tip: In many places in UCare you will see the phrase "Restrict access", this is an indicator that you can restrict who had access to the info. If you uncheck all the security areas then it means that the info is not restricted and anyone with access can view it.